13th Annual Members Meeting & THANK YOU to Board Members

By Anne Reynolds

Squeezed in between a successful and substantive conference (see pictures here);  a buzzing reception and release of NYLCVs report; and a first-ever Roundtable for renewable energy project supporters, ACE also held its 13th annual Members Meeting on September 19th. The Members Meeting had great attendance this year – 68 individuals RSVPed positively – and so these annual strategy sessions, while still pretty informal --  continue to grow in scope and importance. It is at the annual Members Meeting that the Board elects members for the following calendar year. And this year, due to term limits and a decision of the Board to increase the size from 14 to 16 members, there was an uncharacteristically large class of 10 new Board Members elected for 2020. We truly appreciate the long-term dedication of Board Members that are moving on at the end of this calendar year: Kit Kennedy (NRDC), Jenny Briot (Avandgrid), Clint Plummer (Orsted), and Peter Iwanowicz (EANY), Neil Habig (Hudson Energy Development), Karl Rabago (Pace Energy and Climate Center), Liz Weiner (ClearResult). Following elections, the members received a briefing on membership and the state of the organization, as well as a Legislative update and preview. Our panel discussion on transmission needs gave us food for thought on how ACE should continue to advocate for transmission investments in New York. But it is at the strategy sessions where the ACE team gets to hear from members about their priorities and suggestions for our 2020 workplan. In the coming weeks, our staff will digest all this input and create our 2020 Priorities document, our legislative priorities, and our Communications Plan, as well as the strategy document for the New York Offshore Wind Alliance. We could not do this well without the valuable input from members, at the annual Members Meeting and throughout the year. Thank You!